Vienna Secession

The Vienna Secession movement was founded in 1897 by a group of artists, architects, designers and sculptors including Gustav Klimt, Max Kurzweil, Joseph Maria Olbrich and Josef Hoffmann. Formed in protest against the Association of Austrian Artists’ espousal of artistic nationalism and traditionalism, the Secession movement advocated for increased international artistic exchange and a rethinking of the decorative arts. The eponymous Secession Building, designed by Joseph Maria Olbrich, housed the group’s exhibitions, while their official magazine, Ver Sacrum, showcased the movement’s graphic stylings. The Secession artists were prolific furniture designers, producing carpets, lamps, armchairs, cabinets and tables to accompany architectural projects. In 1905, Josef Hoffmann produced an adjustable-backed chair, also known as the “Sitzmaschine”, which reflected the geometric designs favoured by late Secession artists, signalling a move away from Art Nouveau’s floral, curvilinear forms.

Inspired by a trip to Vienna, our Hoffmann Table pays homage to Josef Hoffmann’s work. The clear lines and marble top hark back to Hoffmann’s emphasis on geometry and marriage of pure materials like wood and stone. The marble top, sourced from Bursa, is available in different colours.

Secession artists posing on the occasion of their 14th exhibition in 1902, which was dedicated to Ludwig van Beethoven.
Photo: Moriz Nähr / Pictorial Archives of the Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek
Subscribe today
Subscribe now for updates, discounts and exclusive invitations to our events.

I consent to the Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy